Illinois State University Mathematics Department

MAT 312: Probabilistic and Statistical Reasoning for K-8 Teachers

Spring 2014
10:00 - 11:50 am TR STV 324
Dr. Roger Day (day@ilstu.edu)


Syllabus, Grades, and Assessments
Assignments Resources



Semester Exam: Wednesday, May 7, 8 pm - 10:40 pm, STV 324

Click Here for a Data Set, a Bonus Problem, and Updated Semester Exam Information Provided Prior to Exam Administration



Remember that the Semester Exam is comprehensive! Review the course content we've learned for Test #1 through Test #3!


Syllabus, Grades, and Assessments

.


Current Course Syllabus

Group Maker









Review Questions: Sampling, Bias, Data (1/21/14)


Review: Stem Plots (2/6/14)   Review: Dot Plot and Stem Plot (2/6/14)

1-Variable Data Analysis (Chs 1-3):    Review 1    Review 2     Review 3

2-Variable Data Analysis (Ch 4): Quiz/Test Sample Questions     Review #2    Review #3    Review #4 (do #1, #2)   Review #5 (practice questions at end of file)


Counting & Probability (Chs 5 & 6): Do those that look familiar!  Review #1     Review #2     Review #3     Review #4     Review #5     Review #6





Quiz #1
Quiz #2
Quiz #3 (practice)
Quiz #4
Quiz #5
Quiz #6 (practice)
Quiz #7



Quiz #1 Solutions
Quiz #2 Solutions
Quiz #3 (practice) Solutions
Quiz #4 Solutions
Quiz #5 Solutions Quiz #6 Solutions Quiz #7 Solutions







Test #1: Thursday 20 Feb 2014




Test #1 Solutions




Test #2: Thursday 27 March 2014

Test #2 Solutions

Test #3: Tuesday 29 April 2014

Test #3 SolutionsMultiple-Choice Solutions       Open-Response Solutions       Bonus Solutions



Semester Exam: Wednesday, May 7, 8 pm - 10:40 pm, STV 324

Semester Exam Solutions



Take-Home Tasks, Extended Assignments, Projects, In-Class Activities (For Additional Daily Assignments and Reminders, Look at the Daily PowerPoint Files.)


Sample NAEP Questions (Grade 8 Stat and Prob) (1/23/14)

Population 600 (Tuesday 1/21-23/14 in class)     Population 600 Solution Guide










Assignment #1 (due Tuesday 1/21/14)    Assignment #1 Solutions     Assignment #1 Comments
Assignment #2 (due Thursday 1/30/14)

Assignment #3 (due Tuesday 2/11/14)    Assignment #3 Solutions    Assignment #3 Samples

Assignment #4 (due Thursday 3/20/14)    Assignment #4 Solutions
Assignment #5 (due Thursday 3/20/14)    Assignment #5 Solutions

Assignment #6 (due Tuesday 4/1/14)    Assignment #6 Solutions

Assignment #7 (due Tuesday 4/8/14 by 8:45 pm)      Assignment #7 Solutions

Assignment #8 (due Tuesday 4/15/14)      Assignment #8 Solutions
Assignment #9 (due Thursday 4/24/14)     Assignment #9 Solutions













Class Measurements: Scatter Plots and the Big 3 Characteristics (due 3/4/14) 
height vs arm span
height vs forearm length
height vs foot length
arm span vs forearm length
arm span vs foot length
forearm length vs foot length




Resources


Note Sheets (Ch 1)


fundamental terms     sampling methods and sampling methods practice     bias in sampling    types of data



Note Sheets (Ch 2)

comparing visual representations    creating a dot plot    creating a stem-and-leaf plot    creating a histogram


Note Sheets (Ch 3)

box plots   creating a box plot    using box plots to compare data sets     central tendency     central tendency: "a typical . . . "     variation/spread    

skewed vs symmetrical distributions     skewed distributions: histogram examples   

getting at the concept of the mean     matching mean with standard deviation




Note Sheets (Ch 4)
scatter plot properties and examples

median-median lines of best fit      least-squares regression lines       judging the goodness of fit

median-median line vs least-squares regression line      review: determining the median-median line from a scatter plot and data set (video)
the geometry of "least-squares" regression (video)


Note Sheets (Ch 6)

Pigeonhole Principle       Addition Principle        Multiplication Principle       Permutations       Combinations        Inclusion/Exclusion Principle




Note Sheets (Ch 5)

Intro to Probability     Experimental Probability        Theoretical Probability       Terminology/Symbols/Properties

Geometrical Probability     Simulations      Probability Distributions





Couples' Ages Data Set (2/25/14)   Couples' Ages Scatter Plot (2/27/14)


Class Measurements Data (pdf)


Goodness-of-Fit: Planetary Distances Data (See Test #2 Solutions, #27)


Objectives and Focal Points: Textbook Readings


Pennies Data-Collection Activity




PowerPoint Files: Daily Plans

.

Week #1
Tuesday 1/14/2014
Thursday 1/16/2014
Week #7
Tuesday 2/25/2014
Thursday 2/27/2014
Week #12
Tuesday 4/1/2014
Thursday 4/3/2014
Week #2
Tuesday 1/21/2014
Thursday 1/23/2014
Week #8
Tuesday 3/4/2014
Thursday 3/6/2014
Week #13
Tuesday 4/8/2014
Thursday 4/10/2014
Week #3
Tuesday 1/28/2014
Thursday 1/30/2014
Week #9

ISU Spring Break: No Classes!
Week #14
Tuesday 4/15/2014
Thursday 4/17/2014
Week #4
Tuesday 2/4/2014
Thursday 2/6/2014
Week #10
Tuesday 3/18/2014
Thursday 3/20/2014
Week #15
Tuesday 4/22/2014
Thursday 4/24/2014
Week #5
Tuesday 2/11/2014
Thursday /13/2014
Week #11
Tuesday 3/25/2014
Thursday 3/27/2014
Week #16
Tuesday 4/29/2014
Thursday 5/1/2014
Week #6
Tuesday 2/18/2014
Thursday 2/20/2014

Semester Exam:
Wednesday, May 7
8 pm - 10:40 pm, STV 324


Links

.




Common Core State Standards for Mathematics: Statistics and Probability (Grade 6   Grade 7   Grade 8)


Statistics Videos


Online Apps


Calculator Resources (TI-Guidebook)


Microsoft Word - Calculator Use.doc











Scientists have suspected that animals, when deficient in certain chemicals, tend to injest natural resources that have high concentrations of those chemicals to offset the deficiency. In one study, scientists drained saliva from the parotid gland of sheep in order to make them sodium deficient. Then they offered these sheep a solution of sodium bicarbonate and measured the sheep’s sodium intake. The sodium deficiency and the sodium intake, both measured in millimoles, are recorded here.

Sheep ID #

Sodium Deficit (x) (in millimoles)

Sodium Intake (y) (in millimoles)

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

100

200

570

850

700

425

375

325

450

850

110

180

610

790

750

390

420

380

300

790




Bonus Problem!

There are k different people standing in a single line to get tickets to a London stage show, with k ≥ 2 (k greater than or equal to 2). Donna and Georgia are two of the people in line, and there are exactly m people between Donna and Georgia, with m ≥ 0 (m greater than or equal to 0). In how many distinct ways can such a line-up occur? Your response should be in terms of k and/or m, and you must provide complete and appropriate justification for your solution.

Restrictions for Bonus Problem completion
  • You may work alone or with any classmates, but you should not discuss the problem with anyone other than current classmates of MAT 312.
  • You may prepare your own solution response in advance of our class session and submit that. Do not submit a group response.
  • Cite any resources you used and name any classmates you worked with.


Updated Exam Info
  • 40 multiple-choice questions (40 points)
  • 5 sets of open-response questions (40 points), including
    • one set focusing on 1-variable data analysis,
    • one set on 2-variable data analysis,
    • two sets on counting, and
    • one set on simulations.