Welcome to the Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics at Illinois State University
Scholarships and Awards

Mathematics Department Scholarships

Application form for Mathematics Department Scholarships (PDF File)

College and University Scholarships

Mathematics Education Scholarships

Several scholarship opportunities are available to students in mathematics education. For some scholarships, student applications are required. Other scholarships require that students be nominated by faculty (or others).

Frances R. & Helen T. Brown Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

Established in honor of Frances R. Brown, Professor Emeritus. One or more awards of at least $500 are made each year to students enrolled in the Teacher Certification Sequence of the Mathematics Major.

Illinois Council of Teacher of Mathematics Scholarships

(awarded at the state level)

Two scholarships of $500 are awarded to junior or senior Mathematics Education students in Illinois.

Charles and Doris Jones Textbook Award

(awarded at the ISU department level)

One or more awards of up to $1,000 are made to junior or senior students in the Middle Grades Mathematics Education Program.

Freshman Academic Awards

(awarded at the ISU department level)

Each year several $400 to $500 awards are made to incoming freshmen who have outstanding standardized test scores.

Robert G. Bone Scholarships

(awarded at the university level)

Each year the Mathematics Department nominates one or two majors for the Robert G. Bone Scholarship, the highest honor bestowed upon an undergraduate student by Illinois State University.