Welcome to the Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics at Illinois State University

Financial Asistance

You will find a variety of financial asistance opportunities on this website to help fund your education at ISU.

Mathematics Department Scholarships Top of Page

For Current Students:
Online Application form for Mathematics Department Scholarships
DEADLINE is March 31, 2018.

For Accepted Incoming Students:
Online Scholarship Application.
Note: It will be useful to preview this application form here
DEADLINE is March 31, 2016.


Sharon Keutzer Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

Each year one $1,500 award is made to an incoming student who has outstanding academic acheivements or potential and is majoring in one of the Mathematics Department's majors.

Mathematics Scholar Awards

(awarded at the ISU department level)

Each year several $500 awards are made to incoming students who have outstanding academic acheivements.

Mathematics Scholarships Top of Page

Douglas & Dorothy Bey Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

This scholarship is intended for a mathematics major, typically completing his or her junior year, with both the potential and the intent of pursuing graduate study in the mathematical sciences and typically one $2,000 award is made each year.

Actuarial Scholarships Top of Page

Information about scholarships for actuarial students can be found here.

Mathematics Education Scholarships Top of Page

Several scholarship opportunities are available to students in mathematics education. For some scholarships, student applications are required. Other scholarships require that students be nominated by faculty (or others).

Dr. Edna F. Bazik Endowed Mathematics Teaching Scholarship

(awarded through the College of Education)

Established in 2011 by Dr. Edna F. Bazik, a 43-year veteran mathematics educator, consultant, author, mathematics education program coordinator, and associate professor of mathematics education at National Louis University. One award of $1,000 is made each year. Applications can be submitted through the College of Education Scholarship page.

Frances R. & Helen T. Brown Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

Dr. Francis Brown was an active member of the ISU Mathematics Department from 1949 until his retirement in 1977. In addition to his teaching and advising in the Mathematics Department, Dr. Brown served as Director of Illinois State University's Division of University Extension and Field Services from 1958 to 1977, providing leadership to the University's outreach and service to the schools of Illinois.

This scholarship is intended for promising students (typically in their junior year) enrolled in the Mathematics Teacher Education major in the ISU Mathematics Department and typically one $1,500 award is made each year.

Illinois Council of Teacher of Mathematics Scholarships

(awarded at the state level)

Two scholarships of $1,500 are awarded to junior or senior Mathematics Education students in Illinois. See the ICTM Scholarship Page for details.

Dr. Graham A and Marion Jones Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

This award was established by Dr. Graham Jones. Dr. Graham Jones taught in the ISU Mathematics Department until he retired in 2002. His primary interest was in supporting Middle Level Education majors who are specializing in mathematics.

This award is intended to help ISU students involved in the Middle School Mathematics program with educational expenses while attending ISU.

Bonnie Litwiller Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

This award was established by Dr. Bonnie H. Litwiller,who earned her bachelor's degree from ISU in 1959 and her masters in 1960, then earned her Ed.D. from Indiana Universty in 1968. As a professor at Northern Iowa University, Dr. Litwiller had a distinguished career as a mathematics educator, co-authoring over 900 journal articles and editing 26 books for NCTM.

Dr. Litwiller's devotion and dedication to improving mathematics teaching is perpetuated through this scholarship to benefit students with at least 60 credit hours pursuing an undergraduate degree in Secondary Mathematics Education. This scholarship is to be used for educational expenses. This award is typically made at the $2,000 level.

Edith Robinson Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

This award was established by Dr. G. Edith Robinson, a 1945 graduate of Illinois State University, to recognize outstanding students attending ISU and to motivate prospective mathematics teachers excel in the area of mathematics. After Dr. Robinson graduated from ISU, she received her Masters and Ph.D. from University of Wisconsin. She then taught high school mathematics in Central Illinois and subsequently became the first female professor in the Mathematics Department at the University of Georgia.

This award, typically at the $2,000 level, is intended to recognize and to motivate prospective mathematics teachers in their junior or senior year attending ISU to excel in the area of mathematics.

Kay B. Wilson Scholarship

(awarded at the ISU department level)

Kay Byers Wilson is a 1963 graduate of Illionis State University who completed a masters degree in Mathematics Education at the University of Illinois. After teaching mathematics for several years in the Bloomington/Normal area, Kay Wilson worked for 22 years at State Farm in the systems processing area. She has also done much volunteer work helping low income women and encouraging girls to consider challenging careers, particularly in mathematics-related fields.

This award is intended to encourage women in mathematics-related education careers and is typically awarded at the junior or senior level with a $750 award.

University Scholarships Top of Page

Robert G. Bone Scholarships

(awarded at the university level)

Each year the Mathematics Department nominates one or two majors for the Robert G. Bone Scholarship, the highest honor bestowed upon an undergraduate student by Illinois State University.